• Help Me Get Rated!

    I'm working my hiney off to get my blog noticed. If you've got some time, please go to technorati (click below), "fave me," and write wonderfully fantastical things about me. Thank you!

    Add to Technorati Favorites

    Check PageRank
  • Other Stuff


    Alexa Ranking Widget HERE After Move to .org



    Listed on BlogShares
  • Click These, Please!


    Ultimate Blog Party 2008

    Amazon Widgets HERE After Move to .org
    Amazon.com Widgets




  • They Like Me!


    Our Reviews
    "I think I'm in love! Oh, and the website looks good, too! The domain name is VERY creative. It hooked me, and I like hooks. Nice spin on pop culture and everyday life. I NEED to make this one a fav!"

    Wilbur
    frameyourpets.com
    "Great Blog, to funny, and OMG The drive thru story had me RFLMAO. Loved it. The links all seemed to open quickly and easily and it reads and navigates well. Great color not overbearing. The site is very well put together and just plain great. Thank you Leila"

    Leila
    chicshoulderboutique.com/
    "I really like the Cookie Lee information as I was considering becoming a consultant at one point. Great site, good writing."

    Melissa
    educconn.com
    "Fabulous site! I love the light-hearted humor without being overly cheesy. The color scheme is very nice, and I LOVE LOVE LOVE the logo graphic. All in all, this is a really great site, you're doing a great job! Keep the crockpot going!"

    Melissa
    crunchyparenting.com
    "I gotta hand it to you . . . you are a swell chic. Impressed by your honest and sound advice is what I was when I read your responses to those seeking your advice. You have a lovely family and, of course, you are a very attractive woman. Keep up the good work, fresh content is the key to any well ran website. Good job."

    TIERRA
    tierrahosting.com
    Get your own reviews, free traffic at

Do You Have a BFF?

Yesterday I was reading a post by one of my favorite bloggers. She’d posted a story about a troubled friendship, and how she ultimately had to disconnect herself from her former friend. She’d also included some comments made to her by her best friend, who was passionately showing her support to the blogger during the difficult time. In my comments to the blogger, I told her that she’d inspired a topic for me to blog about: My BFF.

I’m one of those lucky women who met her BFF during the first week of high school. Connected by our love for hairbands and disdain for a certain few of the popular girls, we roamed the halls and cafeteria without a care about what anyone else thought of us. And, like Romy and Michele, we don’t ever remember high school “being all that bad.”

After high school, and during my wilder stages, my BFF would take the wheel of my manual-shift-no-power-steering-piece-of-crap car so that I’d get home safely. When it was time to leave an abusive relationship, she backed her truck into my driveway at 5:30 in the morning to help me move out, no questions asked, after not having spoken to her for weeks. She’s also the one who pointed out a tall, blue-eyed cowboy to me nearly 14 years ago, chaperoned our first date, and later that evening told me, “Yeah, you can date him,” not knowing that he’d become the love of my life.

Through the years, we’ve seen each other through pounds gained and loves lost, three weddings, two miscarriages, and two beloved euthanized pets. Our friendship even survived a disastrous family trip to Cancun, after which I was truly convinced I’d never see her again.

My BFF & I don’t have to talk every day. In fact, we’ve been known to go long periods of time without word only to pick right up where we left off. Friendships should be like that: no worries, no effort, and no excuses.

To my BFF, I’m the “rational” friend: the one who will say not what she wants to hear, but what she NEEDS to hear, even if the truth hurts. To me, she is my “low-road” friend: the one who’ll commiserate with me when someone pisses me off, even if it’s about something stupid.

We should all be so lucky to have a BFF like mine.

So, if you’ve got a BFF, give her a call today. (And tell her I said, “HI!”)

3 Responses

  1. Awww! This is very sweet and you both are very lucky to have found each other! I’ve always had trouble with that word “Best Friend”. It made me feel as though I can only have one. This was very difficult for me at times trying to decide who my true “Best Friend” was. In the end I have come to the decision that I have more than one and each one is just as special to me as the other. One I hang out with almost every weekend, one calls me almost everyday after work and the other is always right there to help out.

    P.S. Love the Romy and Michele reference :o)

  2. Thank you for letting me post using your idea. I’ve posted it at Who is Your Best Friend?. Again your post was great and and thank you for letting me using your idea.

  3. My best friend and I met in the 3rd grade, and we still keep in contact even though we’re in our early 30s.

    We’ve taken different paths in life but it’s nice to have someone who knows you inside and out.

Leave a Reply

