• Help Me Get Rated!

    I'm working my hiney off to get my blog noticed. If you've got some time, please go to technorati (click below), "fave me," and write wonderfully fantastical things about me. Thank you!

    Add to Technorati Favorites

    Check PageRank
  • Other Stuff


    Alexa Ranking Widget HERE After Move to .org



    Listed on BlogShares
  • Click These, Please!


    Ultimate Blog Party 2008

    Amazon Widgets HERE After Move to .org
    Amazon.com Widgets




  • They Like Me!


    Our Reviews
    "I think I'm in love! Oh, and the website looks good, too! The domain name is VERY creative. It hooked me, and I like hooks. Nice spin on pop culture and everyday life. I NEED to make this one a fav!"

    Wilbur
    frameyourpets.com
    "Great Blog, to funny, and OMG The drive thru story had me RFLMAO. Loved it. The links all seemed to open quickly and easily and it reads and navigates well. Great color not overbearing. The site is very well put together and just plain great. Thank you Leila"

    Leila
    chicshoulderboutique.com/
    "I really like the Cookie Lee information as I was considering becoming a consultant at one point. Great site, good writing."

    Melissa
    educconn.com
    "Fabulous site! I love the light-hearted humor without being overly cheesy. The color scheme is very nice, and I LOVE LOVE LOVE the logo graphic. All in all, this is a really great site, you're doing a great job! Keep the crockpot going!"

    Melissa
    crunchyparenting.com
    "I gotta hand it to you . . . you are a swell chic. Impressed by your honest and sound advice is what I was when I read your responses to those seeking your advice. You have a lovely family and, of course, you are a very attractive woman. Keep up the good work, fresh content is the key to any well ran website. Good job."

    TIERRA
    tierrahosting.com
    Get your own reviews, free traffic at

iPods, Personal Culture, and the Contempt of it All

I truthfully cannot remember the last time I read a book for my own personal gain–an actual book with a cover and pages with words on them, that is. (With exception of a super-fantastic book about blogging that my husband gave me for Christmas.)

You see, I noticed soon after having a baby that “sitting down with a good book” meant reading stories about Elmo, caterpillars, and Giving Trees. Long gone were the days that I could breeze through a suspense novel or a book about personal development without interruption.

Until I got an iPod.

So, for the past three years, I’ve been enjoying audio books. At first, I was checking out audio CDs at the library, copying them into iTunes, and then synching them to my iPod. Then I found online subscription sites like Audible, Jiggerbug, and Simply Audiobooks, which has direct downloads.

Lately, however, I’ve found that there’s a certain peculiar stigma that comes with having those famous white earbuds dangling around my head. It’s almost as strong as the hostility one feels while using a cell phone in a restaurant or a darkened theater.

For example, I’ve been listening to the epics “Pillars of the Earth” and “World Without End” over the past several weeks. (The first was highly entertaining and enjoyable, but the jury is still out on book #2.) (And I might add that I found these books WITHOUT Oprah’s help, thank-you-very-much.) The stories are highly addictive, and have me plugged in anytime and anywhere I can listen.

While at the grocery store, I left the earbuds in while checking out, even though I’d turned of the book. The courtesy clerk began to speak to me and then stopped when she saw the earbuds.

“Oh,” she said, “I won’t try to talk over your music.”

“I’m not listening to music. I’m listening to a book,” I said, somewhat defensively.

“Really?! I didn’t even know you could do that?”

“Yes. If I didn’t listen to audio books, I’d get no personal development or culture in my life at all. I’ve got two young boys at home.”

“I know what you mean. I’ve got two daughters . . . I’m going to have to give that a try.”

What was the problem? Why did it matter to her that my earbuds were in? And why did I care that she had a problem with that?

A few days later, I encountered one of my office superiors in our building lobby waiting for an elevator. Again, I’d been listening to the book, but upon seeing my boss, I turned the iPod off and engaged in conversation.

“Oh, don’t turn off your super-cool mix just on my account,” he said sarcastically.

“It’s not music. It’s a book,” I said, letting out a sigh. “It’s called ‘Pillars of the Earth’. It’s a period-piece that takes place in medieval England.”

“A book,” he said, surprised at what he’d heard.

“Why does it matter?”

“I thought you were one of those ‘I’m-too-cool-with-listening-to-my-iPod’ idiots that don’t watch where they’re walking and get hit by oncoming traffic.”

“Nope. I’ve got a much more plausible excuse to be carrying contraband. I can’t read books at home anymore, because Jake decides at the moment that I crack the book open, he wants my undivided attention. So, I listen in the car.”

“Personal culture,” he said, nodding his head, “I like that.”

That got me thinking–why was there now contempt for those who use iPods? Furthermore, why do I feel that I need to make it known that I use mine to listen to books and not music . . . as if waving a “Get Out of iPod Hell Free Card”? Because, frankly, I love my iPod. Don’t taketh it away from me, because it’s one of my only simple pleasures.

My thinking turned into digging, and I soon found that iPods, just like cell phones, have become serious–and sometimes deadly–distractions. As an avid (and SAFE) iPod user, I was completely oblivious to this fact.

But, all new-found facts aside, I still refuse to be treated like a skater just because I’m listening to an iPod. Maybe I’ll go to CafePress for all of us audio book enthusiasts and have some t-shirts made that say, “Sshhh . . . I’m listening to a book.”

4 Responses

  1. Wow, what a great idea! I have an ipod that I don’t even use… I would be more than interested to check out listening to audio books, thanks!

  2. I understand what you mean about not having the time to read. Though still one of my favorite pastimes, I am now relegated to doing it while drying my hair, sitting in the car while at the supermarket parking lot (10 minutes takes me a couple of pages farther) or late at night when my kid is asleep. Because of this, I’ve also fallen into the books on DVD and uploaded into my IPOD. I can work around the house and listen, drive and listen. It’s a poor substitute to the actual page but better than nothing.

  3. I desperately need an Ipod. I think I’ll purchase one for myself soon. In fact, the books on pod part makes me even more excited.

  4. Wow.. Seems that alot of people would judge a person from their looks instead of getting to know them or something else first. But I have no Ipod.. Pity me!!

Leave a Reply

